Friday, June 22, 2012

RT #398

Today was my first day of work! I worked for about 4 hours today and it was slow going, we're usually not very busy on weekdays. But it was still fun. We have good music playing where I work, and free A/C (except I was outside for a long while, pricing yard art and stuff).

Thursday, June 21, 2012

RT #397

I am allergic to just about everything. Seriously. I'm on shots to help immunize me of my allergies, but sometimes they're just so bad I might as well not even have taken my medicine. Like today. I can hardly think, my brain is so muddled with whatever the heck is in there. Maybe I'll go take a nap.


I'm apparently starting my new job tomorrow after VBS! Yay! Except I might not if I feel as bad as I do right now. 

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

RT #396

I have a headache today. I think it's just sugar-induced, since I had a lot of sweets this morning at VBS. We were icing all the cupcakes this morning, all 29 dozen, and we were allowed to lick any icing that got on our hands off. Plus there was a lot of excess once we'd finished, so we transferred the rest of it into another bowl for the teen volunteers' snack table so they (and we) could dip pretzel sticks into the icing.

Another cause of my headache might be this kid named Cameron. He's so cute but he's mean to the rest of the kids in his group; he always hits them during snack time and their group leader likes to hide back in the little break room until it's time to leave. Just today Aidan came up to me and he told me that Cameron had hit him five times, but when I told him to apologize to Aidan he just said "I didn't hit him, he's lying," like all kids who get in trouble do. Later on I saw him hit Aidan again, and I told him that I'd seen and that he needed to apologize but he denied it again, which led to a big argument between them. 

Today was not my day :( but there's only two days left and I need the service hours. 

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Random Truths are Back, Y'all :)

Wellllllll.......I'm going to do random truths again now as a way to get myself back in the swing of blogging daily. And since I've lost count of how many I actually have so far, we'll start at a random number, but not really that random if you're a die-hard Harry Potter fan like me.

RT #394: I am obsessed with gum. It's true. I can't get enough of it; whenever I actually have a pack (which isn't too often since I run out in 2 days tops) I chew around 5 pieces a day. My orthodontist says I'm not actually supposed to chew it since it could get caught in my braces, but I've "forgotten" about that rule. 

#395: I'm a Hufflepuff! My old Pottermore account got messed up somehow, so I had to start over and make a new one. I hadn't yet gotten to the Sorting Hat on my old account, so I was sorted today for the first time. I'm a Hufflepuff, as I had hoped! People think Hufflepuff is the least clever house, but the truth is we have awesome witches and wizards, we just don't brag about it like the other houses. Quietly brilliant, we are. I find this kind of foreshadowed, my being sorted to Hufflepuff, since you'll remember that the short story I posted had a character who also was a Hufflepuff. See, Esther is based on myself!

This isn't really a RT since it's not really a personal fact about me, but I'm volunteering allllll this week at my parish's Vacation Bible School in the snacks department, which is right up my alley. Monday's snack were these little Fig Newton Bibles which were really fun to make (my friend Sarah and I were in charge of piping the crosses on top out of vanilla icing)! Today's snack was a St. Jerome's Cave, which in reality is a waffle cone filled with freshly popped popcorn, mini marshmallows, M&Ms, raisins, and Cheerios. We also baked 350 cupcakes for tomorrow so they'll be cool enough to ice in the morning. 



Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Yeah, I'm a Rebel. What Else is New?

I dyed the ends of my hair aqua yesterday! No, seriously. I did. I love how it turned out :)


What, you don't think I can be rebellious? No one seems to think I would have ever done this, but I've always wanted to. I asked my mom a couple years ago to let me have streaks put in my hair but she said no. It's only for the summer; if the dye doesn't come out before school starts I'll have to cut the dyed part of my hair off. Hopefully my hair will be long enough that it won't really make that much of a difference.


Well.....now I'm bored. So here is a bunny.
 /)__/)
( = ':'  )
(,_(")_(")


Have a wonderful Wednesday!

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Papa and the Thanksgiving Dinner from Hell

Well, okay, maybe not exactly from hell, seeing as Satan probably doesn't want to thank God. But you know what I mean. On with the story.

In November of 2009, I believe, our family was planning a different kind of Thanksgiving dinner. We wanted to change it up a bit while still keeping the main theme of the food (turkey, pumpkin pie, etc.). So what we did is this: we got a Cajun specialty called a turducken, which is a whole turkey stuffed with a whole duck stuffed with a whole chicken (all of it plucked and killed, of course) and filled with some spicy rice or something. But we didn't stop there, oh no. My mom and I watched this Thanksgiving special on Food Network and Tyler Florence showed us how to make a pumpkin-banana-chocolate-meringue pie. It all sounded good to us, but looking back, both of these were HORRIBLE ideas. A big problem with the pie (aside from the bizarre combination of the ingredients) was that my mom didn't blind-bake the crust, so it was really soggy and gross, and that she didn't bake it right away which made it even more soggy and gross, and that the meringue got burned. Thanksgiving rolled around, and my grandparents came over for the feast. The turducken was so gross, not at all like the Cajun market dude guaranteed it would be. The side dishes were pretty good, which was a plus. But when it was time for the pie, nobody really wanted to eat it. Even Mom and I realized it was horrible. However, Papa being the brave, kind father everyone wants to have, kept on eating his piece of pie long after everyone else had pushed theirs aside. Perhaps he really did like it, but I'm betting he just didn't want to hurt Mom's feelings.

I am not feeling that great today, actually pretty terrible. This morning was worse, though. I've been feeling better ever since I threw up (did you know you don't have to have anything in your stomach to still vomit like crazy? I didn't.) and the medicine I took upon feeling like this is starting to take effect.

Monday, June 11, 2012

[No Title Today]

I. Am. Bored. Extremely so. So I'm blogging. Not that blogging is like a last-resort thing, you know I love blogging. I'm rambling again, aren't I?

Anyway, I went shooting again on Saturday. It was National Take Your Daughter to the Range Day, so my dad signed me up for this pistol safety class thing in which there were only two other girls, aged about eight and ten. I learned how to load a magazine (not the paper kind, it's what holds the bullets in a gun) and that I'm right-eye dominant, which means when I aim my gun I close my left eye to line the sights up. We actually did get to shoot after the class part of the training; when we were in the corridor leading to the range our guide person asked who wanted to go first and both of the younger girls simultaneously pointed at me. I was all, yeah, I'll go, I was going to volunteer anyway, because I really was. I've shot before, and these kids hadn't, so I was going to show them how it's done. I did very well! I had 10 bullets loaded in my magazine. My first shot hit the target but I wasn't exactly aiming, I was using that for a test shot. Shot #2 was kind of low, but closer to the bullseye than #1. I had a really nice grouping in the bullseye and the ring just outside of it for the remainder of my shots, and then I reloaded my gun with 3 rounds to take out two balloons. After I finished shooting, my dad had rented another lane, so we took turns re-killing a zombie clown (target) with the 38. I got to actually load, shoot, and eject the bullets as I shot; at one point these guys with a 40-caliber next to us started talking to my dad while I was shooting so I just let them talk and used the last ten bullets myself. Man, I love being Texan!

I am going to go actually get my day started. I've been awake since 9 but I haven't actually gotten dressed or anything. Bye!

Monday, June 4, 2012

Texting

I absolutely HATE it when people don't text me back. Especially if I had just asked you a question, or two or three. I understand that not everyone is a stuck-at-home loser like me, but seriously, if you're busy or something just tell me and I will understand. It's annoying as heck when I'm texting someone and they don't respond for like another two hours. Please tell me I'm not the only one who gets annoyed by this. I feel like a total b---- for complaining but today kind of sucks and I want to go have fun but since I don't have a freaking car or a license or friends to make plans with I'm just stuck here.

Sunday, June 3, 2012

Random Stuff!

Today's David's 15th birthday! :) Finally, I'm still technically older than him but at least we're the same age now.

Not much to report other than that...for some reason I am extremely tired, though I got roughly 9 hours of sleep last night (technically very early this morning). Yesterday at his party everyone went and saw Men In Black 3 and it was capital-A Awesome! Except the whole time-travel thing really screws with my head...once you see it you'll understand. And my mom and I are going to go see For Greater Glory (this new Catholic movie) on Tuesday, we hope, so that should be fun.

As a reward for my 96 on my English final, my mom got me a copy of Us magazine with different One Direction posters and articles and such. I put them all up on my wall today, there's 6 total but they're front-and-back so I have Niall, Harry, and a group shot of all 5 of them. I'll flip them over next week. So yeah.

Saturday, June 2, 2012

Changed the URL!

Hey y'all. I decided since nobody I know ever calls me Empy, I'm changing my blog name and the URL. Starting tomorrow (if you're not a registered follower of my blog already) all my posts and whatnot will be at mynameismeridith.blogspot.com . Okay? I'm giving y'all a day to read this and whoever doesn't today will be severely disappointed tomorrow.

Yesterday was an awesome start to summer. I finished my English final and my teacher had already graded it by the time I could leave, so she told me my grade and I got a 96!!!!! A freaking legit A! Except it's only 20% of the total grade for this year, so now my average is a 75 which is a C. But still! And I also got to see David finally, after about a month (my parents wouldn't let us get together until school was over with for the year). I get to see him again today; tomorrow's his birthday but the party's today. I hope your summer's going as great as mine!